Canadian in Australia...providing services to a Canadian client

suleos

I need some help with understanding the implications of the following setup. But first a couple of details about myself:

- I am a Canadian citizen

- I am a deemed non-resident of Canada

- I am a tax resident of Australia

I have a sole proprietor business here in Australia providing software development services. If I was to provide a service to a Canadian entity whilst rendering that service here in Australia, then would I have to pay tax in Canada as well as Australia? They would be sending the funds (AUD) to my Australian bank account. I assume that this would be an Australian tax matter as the services are rendered here, but now I'm not so sure...and the Canada-Australia tax treaty is confusing.

Any help is much appreciated.

Edit: This thread hasn't gained too much traction...however, for anyone else needing help, I found this in the Income Tax Act: https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/i-3.3/page-1.html#h-279747

Tax payable by non-resident personsWhere a person who is not taxable under subsection 2(1) for a taxation year

(a) was employed in Canada

(b) carried on a business in Canada, or

(c) disposed of a taxable Canadian property

Edit 2: Some further reading: https://www.fasken.com/en/knowledge/doing-business-in-canada/7-taxation

A non-resident is generally subject to taxation on Canadian-source income, such as:
  • Income from a business carried on in Canada
  • Income from an office or employment in Canada
  • Capital gains on the disposition of property, known as “taxable Canadian property”
  • Income of a passive nature received from Canadian residents (e.g., dividends, rent, royalties)
https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-ag...de-electing-under-section-216.html#P204_18666

Other Canadian-source income
  • If you have other Canadian-source income for 2022, you may have to send the CRA a separate Canadian return to report it.