Better alternatives to saving accounts in Europe

oneofthesheep

Hi all, I'm 28 and I'm based in Ireland. Interests on saving accounts offered by banks are generally very low here. To give you an idea, unless you go with a fixed term deposit account which locks your money for 6 to 24 months, interests can be as low as 0.1%-0.25%.

Considering that I'm planning to relocate in 1-2 years to a different European country, do you know if there are better saving accounts that can be opened without geographic restrictions (e.g. being a resident in a specific country) and without having to lock your deposit for a fixed duration of time?

Thanks!

@snoopy90 Great suggestions. I already have a fairly big portion of my net worth already invested in ETFs for the long term (10+ years) and I'm currently studying bonds to understand what would be the best solution for me. After some research I would have opted for a short-term (3/5 years) government bond, but I'm still open to consider ETFs bonds. Do you have any preference/thoughts between the two?

@oneofthesheep Personally, if I were holding euros, I'd buy those iBonds corp ETFs and either a lone gov bond or treasury, whatever is cheapest locally and available on a 50-50 allocation. This is a good mixture of public/private and the ETF is likely to remain liquid if I needed some of the money ahead of time.

If I were holding USD though, options are better. Fed treasuries are effectively risk free and there is an iBonds ETF as well for them, I believe without corporate risk.

The market could use some decent term gov bond ETFs in euros, though.

@oneofthesheep The euro ones? I don't know off hand, on mobile atm. Valid concern, though.

Another option could be an ultra short-term bond ETF or fund. A little better than an MMF, no real liquidity issues, and unlikely to see much volatility, but subject to interest rates changing. I'd expect these to be hedged.