At fault, no insurance

monowhite

I was in an accident and didn’t have insurance at the time.
Without getting into details, the other driver’s insurance company deemed me at fault and sent me a bill for $9000.
This seems crazy to me. I saw the damage and there’s no way that it would cost $9k to fix that. It was a small dent on the back door.
My question is, do I absolutely have to pay the whole $9k or would they possibly settle for less? I’m new to this and not sure how it works.
I can’t imagine paying $9k when I live paycheck to paycheck for an accident that really wasn’t my fault.

@monowhite There are 2 parts to most claims: Liability, and damages. If a court determines that you are 100% responsible for the crash, then you are going to be 100% responsible for any costs involved. Those will be the damages. If the $9,000 is derived from the cost to repair the vehicle AND those repairs are the result of the crash, you are going to be responsible for those damages. However, if you can produce evidence that the vehicle can be repaired for less than $9k, it will require an expert, such as another body shop estimate or similar.

If there is a judgment entered against you, most likely the insurance company will set up a payment plan or send you to collections. Not good news I'm afraid.

@monowhite You’re welcome to try to dispute it if you have proof that you weren’t at fault. But it is entirely possible that your license will be suspended in the meantime. The amount is going to be be hard to dispute if that’s what it cost to fix the car and provide the other driver with a rental.

@monowhite Cars are expensive to fix. And some parts you can’t just “fix” and have to replace the entire part.

Don’t drive without insurance for this reason.

You can argue it was their fault as well but it depends on what happened.