At fault accident in parking lot am i screwed for insurance??

phamnga25

i’m 19 F and just got into my very first accident. I hit a parked car trying to park into a tight spot. Damage to car i hit isn’t major but they will most likely need to replace bumper as it it dent and scratched. i only set up policy a couple days ago as i just my used car, was driving my parents car prior. Clean record for a year, still only on g2 however. I’m a new driver, obviously so i’m worried because of my inexperience i will suffer from extremely high premiums. Does anyone have any idea how bad my insurance will be? I’m only paying 200 a month, would expecting an extra 100 a month reasonable or should i expect to pay more?

@mlshelton1975 i know! i was just trying to possibly get some peace of mind regarding my insurance, just wondering if anyone out there would have any idea on what i should expect. i was wondering if anyone knew because it’s a small parking lot accident if in general it wouldn’t affect insurance as much as an traffic accident would!

@phamnga25 It's hard to say, what state or country are you in and are you on the policy yourself or are you on your parents policy?

Not knowing what your finance are, but you may want to see if we can pay for the repairs out of your pocket and not go through the insurance

@jon1234 thanks for the reply! it’s my own policy i just set it up a few days ago. i was wondering if the fact it’s a parking lot accident will help with premiums as there’s no injury involved or traffic violations. it was purely and accident with miscalculation of distance on my part. or are all accidents looked at with the same eyes?

@phamnga25 Since there's no ticket or accident involved, I would guess it would depend on how much the damage is and how much the insurance company has to pay. Now. I don't work in the insurance industry so maybe somebody that does well clarify. It also depends on like I said where you are located and who's your insurer?