Are Islamic banks compliant with Islamic law behind the scenes?

infomommax

Hello everyone,
I am new to the finance scene and currently hold an account in a conventional bank (unfortunately).

I want to open an account with an Islamic bank, but as you all know the world of finance is quite opaque especially when it comes to a bank’s dealings with the central bank.

Does anyone have first-hand knowledge on Islamic bank operations and whether they are fully compliant with Islamic law? Eg. do Islamic banks receive interest from central banks on their deposits?

What do you look for in an Islamic bank when opening an account? I am also open to bank recommendations within the EU.

TIA

@infomommax The prophet used to do business with non Muslims. He just ensured HIS business with them were halal.

So I don’t see the point of what banks do behind the scenes. If there are halal alternatives then fine. But I wouldn’t stress about it either.

@daisies89 Banks use your money to lend it out, invest in haram, create more money etc.

It is not allowed to have an account at a traditional bank, when there are Islamic banks in your country.

@prouddada I have one from a scholar working at the Al-Azhar, but it is in German.

However, this is not something new. You can easily find plenty of Fatawa stating the same.

@angeshekinahh I meant do you have something clear from the Quran or Hadith? There are lots of different scholars with varying view points on everything. The best thing to do is look at the information yourself and make your own decision so your niya / intentions are clear

@angeshekinahh Islamic banks are as involved in Riba as conventional banks. Using Islamic banks is further perpetuating Riba amongst Muslims rather than moving away from it. For this reason even though there are Islamic banks in the UK I refuse to use them. They are dishonest and deceptive.

That ayah says do not cooperate in transgression.