Am I crazy to keep putting all my money into index funds the next few years even if I have enough for a downpayment?

caljreich

27, no debt, car, mortgage. My net worth is around 165k
  • 137k in Nasdaq and S&P 500 ETFs. TFSA and FHSA contributions maxed out
  • 12k in bonds
  • The rest in cash, haven’t checked my RRSP amount but company matches upto 4%
I expect to save 90-100k after expenses this year, which should give me enough for a downpayment. However, my current plan is to just aggressively invest in index funds for the next 6-8 years and hope I can buy a house in cash by liquidating my portfolio when I’m 35 or so.

I understand that the market could have a really bad year in the middle and wipe away half my savings, but I’m also worried about getting a high interest mortgage and then getting laid off(I work in tech)

The biggest concern with this strategy is I rent a 1+1 condo for $3k in DT Toronto. I like living downtown and don’t need to own a car, and the condo is rent controlled. But if I need a bigger space when I have kids(I’m engaged) I’m concerned about a market crash/layoff when I really need more housing space. Similar condos now go for $3.6k so I can’t move to a cheaper one easily either.

Getting on the property ladder in Toronto seems extraordinarily difficult without taking a lot of risk(in terms of debt and high interest rates) or moving to a distant suburb unfortunately

@caljreich I would personally invest my future house money in stocks, BUT you have to be okay with the fact that when you want to buy they have crashed and are not worth as much as you expected. That's not the end of the world. You can either wait for them to recover and buy the house later or sell them for a lower value and buy the house now if you had enough value at that time.

This ^^ works for some people and others would freak out by the volatility and it would make them uncomfortable. You have to determine which camp you are in.