AllState refuses to pay airport taxes and fees on rentals. Any suggestions?

hrse2wtr

I also posted on r/Allstate, but did not get much attention, so I posted it here to try to get some help. Here's my story:

I was in a not at fault accident. I had over 6 months of car rental since my car was in the shop. After sending the invoices to AllState Claim Advisor. I was told the first time that they would not reimburse airport taxes and fees which is around $1,500 since I picked up the rental in an airport.

What should I do? File in a small claim? Hire a lawyer? My insurance is Geico and I live in California. Any suggestion is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Thank you for your suggestions everyone! Like I mentioned, this is my first time doing car rental due to car accident, so I only asked the adjustor that "so I just rent the car, save the receipts to get the reimbursement?" The adjustor just said yes. She only emphasized not to rent the luxury brands. So I just used Priceline to search it since I had no preference on rental company. If I knew, of course I wouldn't go to airport.

@juli123 As an adjuster the only times people would do it is when it was after hours of all other ERACs and they needed one NOW but even then I would be like you can choose to do that but we’re not covering those airport fees. Only under circumstances where there were zero other options would we authorize paying the fees but that was very rare

@hrse2wtr You have an obligation to mitigate costs and picking up at the airport location was the more expensive option. Was there simply not a closer rental
Location? Was the next closest impractically far? We as adjusters can’t even make a reservation for people at airport locations.