Advice on Investing as an expat in the UK

seeking626

So I am a 23 M and I have U.S Citizenship. I currently working and living in the U.K after graduating from university this year in the U.K. I wanted to know the best route to invest into index funds, open a brokerage account etc. whilst I am in the U.K. I currently have a Robinhood account registered in the U.S with a U.S bank account (I send money that I make at my job from the U.K to my U.S bank account). I’m planning to stay in the U.K for a couple more years, however, I still want to be able to invest into index funds/open accounts whilst I’m in the U.K. I am a beginner investor so I would appreciate any advice on how to go about this. Also, should I reach out to a professional account advisor or something?

@seeking626 You're in a bit of a tough spot as a US citizen, because of various conflicting requirements on US and UK investors. This page has a discussion of some of those issues, and a list of index funds that should be "safe" from a US and UK tax perspective (always double check and do your own research, though).

@seeking626 I would avoid anything with PFICs on it. I am unsure if you can open up anything like an ISA in the UK as an american citizen, if you could it might help but I still think you would get taxed.

I would play safe and invest back in the US or through a US brokerage. If the exchange works out well you could potentially save more!

There is some good info on a few expat websites:
They are more UK based but have US content on them that might help understand the situation a bit more!

I hope this helps!

@whitesunshinee Do you think opening a TD Ameritrade Account and sending my U.K money to the TD account investing in U.S based index funds is ok? I plan to pay U.S taxes on any gains within the TD Ameritrade account.

@stephendisraeli Is this disadvantageous tax treatment really bad? As in would it still be worth sending money to my TD Ameritrade account for investments?