Advice for what to do with a surprise R100000

sugahani

Hi! I'm a student and and I was recently gifted R100000 by a godparent completely out of the blue.

I've never really dealt with large amounts of money, and have been living in an apartment owned by a family member while being able to mostly pay for my own food with income from tutoring. Before this I've not been able to build up savings, and I'm now finding myself woefully unprepared for what to do.

I don't have any expenses bar food, no car, insurance, etc. I would be grateful if anyone would be able to give some advice on how best to go about dealing with the money?

I spoke to a friend and they recommended EasyEquities and explained to me what a TFSA is. Additionally, they and another individual recommended Satrix MSCI World Feeder ETF. Is this a good ETF to use, and are there any recommendations on how to go about investing in ETFs?

Currently my plan is to set aside R72000 to put into the TFSA over the next two years and keep the remaining R28000 as a supplement for living expenses over the next two years where my income is not sufficient. I would really appreciate a proper explanation of a TFSA and any pitfalls regarding them, e.g., are there complications if one emigrates, how accessible are the funds in the TFSA, and are there fees associated with transferring invested funds from a non-TFSA to the TFSA?

I would appreciate any assistance.

@sugahani Yes, that's a good idea.

I would also look at the Satrix S&P500 ETF and the Satrix Nasdaq 100 ETF. You can invest the money on Easy Equities by opening an account.

There will be some fees but not much. Maybe R100 in total for a 36k transfer. Make sure not to go over or you will be taxed at 40% on the amount you invested over.