Add to retirement or save for a car?

dmhanson511

Diagram is of my current annual budget.

I am a 44-year old electrical apprentice, currently making just shy of $30/hour in a HCOL city. All of my medical benefits and retirement are paid by my employer. I value good food and travel, so those budget categories skew high.

I lost all of my (admittedly meager) retirement funds in a divorce. I'm due for a $2.48/hr raise in May and am considering whether I want to put $2/hr into an un-matched employer-provided 401K. Going forward, I would add another $2/hour with each raise (they come 3x/yr) until I have maxed out allowable contribution. This would be on top of the 3 pension funds that my employer pays for. On the other hand, I could also use that raise to increase the amount saved toward emergencies, and I will be needing to replace my car in the next couple years.

Thoughts?

https://preview.redd.it/2tgasoi3tjr...bp&s=b48c789341f35d607f74fe7f6b14c78f778b2451

@ladydenise226 I currently have just shy of $20K in pension accounts. I plan to replace my 2010 Prius with another Prius or maybe a RAV4 in the $10K-20K range, preferably in cash as I have no interest in a monthly car payment.

@dmhanson511 I love my besties RAV4 so much. I'm in the market for another car in the next year and I'm so torn on one lol. It's over 30k tho, which kills me to think about.

@dmhanson511 Evaluate the true need for the car replacement very strictly. Remember that it is absolutely possible to find a reliable, fuel-efficient, and even fun used car for under $9,000. Definitely prioritize the retirement savings; you’ll thank yourself later.

@koval A reliable car for under $9,000? That seems like a real stretch in this used car market. That would maybe get me a 2001 Buick La Sabre with 200,000 miles.