resjudicata

I only found out about this recently but if you change your electricity provider to Z electric and use a referral code (can find them on choice cheapies) they will deposit 75L free petrol into your sharetank account within 14 days. If you do end up changing electricity provider after that then there is no penalty. If you stay with Z Electric you can earn 5L per $100 you spend on your power bill so could get quite a bit of free fuel.

@resjudicata Hey folks, I'm a data scientist for the NZ electricity industry. This sounds like a pretty good deal! However, make sure that you compare the overall costs of a deal like this before you dive in. A lot of companies offer fancy-sounding stuff to get you onboard but then the actual price of your electricity bill can cost you more in the long run.

For example, in the past 40 weeks with my current power company I paid about $1500 in electricity costs. Pulse Energy are currently offering me $150 joining credit (sweet!) BUT I just calculated that they would have charged me $250 more over the same timeframe for my electricity, meaning I'd have made a net loss of $100 hidden in the extra fees and higher per-unit costs, and I'd only get that credit if I switched to their broadband, too.

Be very cautious when people offer you free appliances, joining credits, free "night power", or whatever. No such thing as a free lunch. Someone's paying for it and it's probably you.

If anyone needs help understanding their electricity bills or comparing providers, you can reply to this comment and I'll do my best.

@lolaorchid I've just run the numbers for Z Electric and they're pretty good! They're offering me 5L of fuel per $100 I spend on power plus 50L of fuel credit as a signing bonus. When I put that in my spreadsheet it comes out that I'd have saved roughly $100.

I would not have known this unless I'd done the calculations - you should do the same.