7 distinctions, need guidance on next steps

dreamylala

Just looking for guidance. 7 distinctions, qualified for engineering degree. Need steps forward.

So herss my story guys, I'm 19 and I graduated high school with 7 distinctions and got into mech engineering , however my hearts not really in it and I really don't feel like having those loans on me if I don't see a long term future in that field. Can I have some sort of advice as to what the smartest steps for are for me in terms of investing my time for future success?

Any advice is helpful, thanks.

@dreamylala If you’re just wanting to invest your time for future success then you’re engineering degree is the way to go, however, if you have the means take time off to actually figure things out, you’re 19, save the smart decisions for later in life.

@dreamylala Every engineer that I met wanted to be an accountant and every accountant wanted to be an engineer, so choose wisely. I was a chemical engineer in the field of water, now retired.

@pragyana This made me laugh.

My dad studied medicine, after being 4years in he too wanted to switch to engineering. He did not.

He married an accountant, she too says she initially wanted to study engineering but couldn't get a bursary for it in time and went with the finance bursary as it covered 100% of her tuition.

They tried to pressure me into engineering every chance they got.

Ended up with a comp sci degree and glad I ignored them, I would never have survived the engineering program at Maties.

I guess as long as OP is passionate, committed and fully aware of what to expect it will definitely be worth it.

@dreamylala I have a very strong opinion on this topic. I did really well in matric, also 7 distinctions, did not work all that hard, finished matric in 2016, 85%+ avg. I thought I was clever. BUT THEN, I went to study electrical engineering at Stellenbosch..... because I thought I was soooo clever and was good at maths.