[31m] Staying in a job that is killing me for a guaranteed RM100k bonus

dj209

Hello Redditors! As the title says. 4 more months to the end of the year and if I continue to stay in this deadbeat job, I will get a guaranteed bonus at the end of December.

I’ve been working for the last 10 years mostly in tech. This company I’m working for now is a public listed media conglomerate. I’m working as a regional executive at one of their overseas asian market. Pay is decent (MYR30k/month) and the company covers all overseas expenses.

Problem is that this job has been taking a toll on my mental health since I started early this year. I struggle to find meaning to what the business does and the value it creates for users. I’ve started my own companies before so having a strong sense of purpose is extremely important to me.

Before I took this job, I recently got married 2nd time. Had a kid (3 yo) from my previous marriage. Being a dad changed my perspective of life and everything I work for is for my family. I don’t get to go back home very often (once in 4 months and a 8 hr flight away), and I do miss my wife and kids.

Wife is amazing and super loving. But I feel that it’s unfair that she has to act like a single mom while I’m out making dough.

The only reason that’s keeping me here now is that big money pay check at the end of the year. I’ve lasted 8 months with excruciating mental and emotional stress. But I’m not sure if I should bear out the remaining 4. I’m living in a high COL suburb in KL. Average monthly expenses is RM10k/month, no luxuries. Mortgage is 50% of my total monthly expenses.

My plan next year is to take a career sabbatical and spend more time with family. Taking an easier but lower paying job (< RM5k). Being a responsible father and a loving husband. This 100k will add to this sabbatical fund and go a long way in making that happen. But at the expense of my mental health and family. I’m not sure.