30-40k all in Disney stock what do I do?

loreec

My grandparents invested money for me about 15 years ago. I always assumed it was a few hundred, so I thought I had $3-4k. Turns out I have closer to $30-40k. This money hasn’t been touched in a long time.

I’m a recent graduate student and don’t have a job. Should I sell my Disney stock, pay capital gains, and reinvest it all into the S&P 500? I don’t plan on touching it for a while.

If I do sell, should I do it before year end, or in January? For any tax implications: I did work from the beginning of January-May (made around $15-20k). Once I graduate late summer, I plan to get a job related to my field. I could get a high paying consulting job, or I could get a research position that’s lower paying. Please let me know what you think is best!

@loreec If you want it to be included in taxes for this year (due next April 2024), you need to sell it by end of year.

Given that you had no income this year, it's best you realize the capital gain this year so you can leverage standard deduction to wipe out 14k and also you won't have to pay any federal long term capital tax because your taxable income puts you in the 0% bucket for long term capital gains.

Whether you want to reinvest the money into SP500 is up to you. Personally I think that's a good idea since I don't think much of Disney as a stock and leaving in SPY and forgetting about it will be a safe and good move. Doing this while you have no income is also saving you a ton of taxes vs when do sell this position when you have a job.

And as the other guy mentioned, I totally forgot, throw 6500 into Roth IRA so future gains for that 6500 won't be taxed.

@newlove More than one kind of Roth/ IRA

Payroll deduction 401k roth max contribution is like ~$22,400/yr
And you can just open any Roth IRA and contribute another $6500/yr